Diabetes Education

The out-patient diabetes education class is an essential tool for learning diabetes self-management. The class is for people with diabetes, and caretakers of those with diabetes. The class welcomes both newly diagnosed individuals and those needing to refresh their knowledge.

The class is taught by Tamara S. Herman, RD, LD, CDE,  a Registered & Licensed Dietitian, and a Certified Diabetes Educator

This course is composed of topics on: basics of diabetes, long and short-term diabetic complications, exercise, and medications, nutrition education with an individualized meal plan for each participant. Insulin education is covered at the end of the class, for participants on insulin.

Administration of insulin injections and glucometer instructions are not offered during the class, however, these instructions are available by contacting the Tamara S. Herman.

Currently, class participation is free, and does not require a physician’s order, however, pre-registration is required.

The Community Diabetes Education Class at Stephens County Hospital will now be held on Friday afternoons from 2:30pm – 5:00pm in Community Education Classroom #1.

The class remains free of charge, and pre-registration is required by calling 706-282-4338 orfax orders to 706-282-4146. 

Please mark your calendars for the following dates:

Friday, March 8 – 2:30pm– 5:00pm
Friday, April 26 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, May 10 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, June 21 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, July 19 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, August 16 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, September 20 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, October 18 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, November 15 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm
Friday, December 20 – 2:30pm – 5:00pm

 

Call 706.282.4338 to register a participant(s) or for more information.